Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Sulu Sea in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 21:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 12 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Sulu Sea had 12 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.8 | Bohol Sea, 53 km N of Oroquieta, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Sulu Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours5 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days54 quakes | 34 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days224 quakes | 121 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days751 quakes | 424 quakes M2+ | 106 quakes M3+ | 14 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days3,492 quakes | 2,078 quakes M2+ | 350 quakes M3+ | 70 quakes M4+ | 7 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Oct 6, 2022 3:24 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 19:24 GMT)
2.6

1 km
Philippine Sea, 27 km east of Danao City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 6, 2022 2:28 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 18:28 GMT)
2.2

34 km
9.5 km east of Polangui, Province of Albay, Bicol, Philippines More
Oct 6, 2022 12:09 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 16:09 GMT)
1.9

28 km
Celebes Sea, 45 km west of Cotabato City, Philippines More
Oct 5, 2022 11:59 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 15:59 GMT)
2.1

163 km
South China Sea, 44 km southwest of Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Oct 5, 2022 11:06 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 15:06 GMT)
2.4

22 km
South China Sea, 50 km west of Mamburao, Philippines More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 12:50 am (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 16:50 GMT)
2.1

18 km
Celebes Sea, 62 km south of Pagadian City, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 9:42 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 13:42 GMT)
1.7

113 km
South China Sea, 25 km southwest of Balayan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 9:39 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 13:39 GMT)
2.7

187 km
South China Sea, 17 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 6:29 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 10:29 GMT)
2.6

1 km
Celebes Sea, 85 km southwest of Cotabato City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 1:44 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 05:44 GMT)
2.2

165 km
South China Sea, 44 km southwest of Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 05:02 GMT)
1.7

35 km
9.1 km southwest of Iriga City, Province of Camarines Sur, Bicol, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 11:39 am (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 03:39 GMT)
2.8

80 km
Bohol Sea, 53 km north of Oroquieta, Philippines More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 7:43 am (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 23:43 GMT)
2.3

35 km
19 km east of Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 7:18 am (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 23:18 GMT)
1.7

1 km
16 km northeast of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 6:58 am (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 22:58 GMT)
2.3

1 km
15 km northeast of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 6:13 am (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 22:13 GMT)
2.5

6 km
Mindoro, 35 km east of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.2 x 109 joules (1.17 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.01 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Davao, Philippines (DAV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Davao, Philippines: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Sulu Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sulu Sea?

The last earthquake in Sulu Sea occurred 2 hours and 29 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 27 km east of Danao City, Philippines, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 3:24 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Sulu Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Sulu Sea had 16 quakes up to magnitude 2.8.

What was the strongest quake in Sulu Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Sulu Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 18 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.8 earthquake - Bohol Sea, 53 km north of Oroquieta, Philippines, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 11:39 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings