Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the North Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 29 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 86 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 97 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 390 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, North Pacific Ocean had 29 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 86 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 97 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 390 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.0 | Michoacan, 53 km SE of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 44 km SE of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in the North Pacific Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours206 quakes | 52 quakes M2+ | 33 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+
Past 7 days1,545 quakes | 417 quakes M2+ | 340 quakes M3+ | 93 quakes M4+ | 9 quakes M5+
Past 30 days16,169 quakes | 5,771 quakes M2+ | 1,946 quakes M3+ | 371 quakes M4+ | 32 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 90 days43,268 quakes | 15,330 quakes M2+ | 5,333 quakes M3+ | 1,089 quakes M4+ | 87 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days98,603 quakes | 31,848 quakes M2+ | 18,559 quakes M3+ | 4,184 quakes M4+ | 317 quakes M5+ | 21 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (69 out of 602 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (38 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 21:52 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Rosarito, Baja California, Mexico (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 5, 2022 4:48 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 21:48 GMT)
?

n/a
Near San Pedro Pochutla, Oaxaca, Mexico (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 5, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 21:29 GMT)
4.0

28 km
Mexico: 42 Km Al SUROESTE De COALCOMAN, MICH
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 21:26 GMT)
2.0

1 km
4 Km ENE of Minco, Oklahoma More
Oct 5, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 20:52 GMT)
2.9

33 km
40 Km Al Suroeste De Mechapa, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Oct 5, 2022 2:15 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 20:15 GMT)
4.1

17 km
Mexico: 155 Km Al SUROESTE De PIJIJIAPAN, CHIS
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 1:03 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 20:03 GMT)
2.2

3.7 km
10km SE of Sunol, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 20:00 GMT)
4.0

8 km
Mexico: 76 Km Al SUR De COALCOMAN, MICH
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 12:30 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 19:30 GMT)
2.1

17 km
46km SW of Wilkerson, CA More
Oct 6, 2022 4:04 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 19:04 GMT)
4.8

64 km
NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 12:54 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 18:54 GMT)
3.3

12 km
29 Km Al Suroeste De Dominical, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 1:47 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 18:47 GMT)
2.1

6.3 km
5 Km ENE of Minco, Oklahoma 2 reportsMore
Oct 6, 2022 3:07 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 18:07 GMT)
2.7

44 km
Japan: SE OFF MIYAGI PREF More
Oct 5, 2022 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 18:02 GMT)
2.2

14 km
Costa Rica: 8 Km Al Sur De San Gabriel, Aserri. More
Oct 5, 2022 10:45 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 17:45 GMT)
2.0

2.8 km
2 Km NNW of Navy Yard City, Washington More
Oct 5, 2022 10:46 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 16:46 GMT)
2.8

26 km
47 Km Al Sur De Las Brisas, Guatemala More
Oct 5, 2022 11:38 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 16:38 GMT)
2.2

14 km
Panama-Colombia Border Region More
Oct 6, 2022 1:00 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 16:00 GMT)
2.5

32 km
Japan: SE OFF MIYAGI PREF More
Oct 5, 2022 5:28 am (GMT -10) (Oct 5, 2022 15:28 GMT)
2.3

0.8 km
29 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Oct 6, 2022 12:16 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 15:16 GMT)
3.9

62 km
Japan: SE OFF MIYAGI PREF
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 11:42 pm (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 14:42 GMT)
3.0

9.2 km
Japan: MID FUKUSHIMA PREF
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.7 x 1012 joules (1.86 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1604 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Johnston Island, USA (JOHN/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Johnston Island, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Pacific Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the North Pacific Ocean?

The last earthquake in the North Pacific Ocean occurred 51 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - Michoacan, 53 km southeast of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 4:29 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in the North Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, North Pacific Ocean had 69 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in the North Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the North Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 44 km southeast of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 4:04 am (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings