Latest quakes in or around the Indian Ocean in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 01:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 31 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 30 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 16 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, the Indian Ocean had 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 16 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 31 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 30 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.6 | Ceram Sea, 78 km N of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.5 | Banda Sea, Indonesia, 173 km N of Delhi, Aveiro, Dili, Timor-Leste -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or around the Indian Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours:40 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days:309 quakes | 108 quakes M2+ | 101 quakes M3+ | 42 quakes M4+ | 11 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:1,309 quakes | 466 quakes M2+ | 443 quakes M3+ | 171 quakes M4+ | 26 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:4,114 quakes | 1,504 quakes M2+ | 1,378 quakes M3+ | 630 quakes M4+ | 57 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:19,335 quakes | 7,761 quakes M2+ | 6,459 quakes M3+ | 2,557 quakes M4+ | 276 quakes M5+ | 19 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.5 or higher (67 out of 95 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 10:03 am (GMT +9) (Aug 18, 2022 01:03 GMT)
4.6

10 km
CERAM SEA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 10:52 am (GMT +10) (Aug 18, 2022 00:52 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (30 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 5:18 am (GMT +7) (Aug 17, 2022 22:18 GMT)
3.3

10 km
NORTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:56 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 21:56 GMT)
3.5

60 km
Philippines: 132 Km S 47° E of Governor Generoso (Davao Oriental)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:33 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 21:33 GMT)
3.4

10 km
SULAWESI, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:32 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 21:32 GMT)
3.1

10 km
SULAWESI, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:31 am (GMT +6) (Aug 17, 2022 18:31 GMT)
4.4

10 km
NIAS REGION, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 2:18 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 18:18 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Australia: Brookton, WA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:35 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 17:35 GMT)
2.8

96 km
SULAWESI, INDONESIA MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:19 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 17:19 GMT)
2.5

33 km
Philippines: 040 Km S 70° W of Datu Blah T. Sinsuat (Maguindanao) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:57 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 16:57 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Australia: Offshore South-West WA, Indian Ocean
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:23 am (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2022 16:23 GMT)
4.0

10 km
HALMAHERA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:11 am (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2022 16:11 GMT)
4.9

10 km
182 Km WNW of Sorong, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:04 am (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2022 16:04 GMT)
3.6

10 km
HALMAHERA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:55 am (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2022 15:55 GMT)
4.5

10 km
HALMAHERA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:45 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 15:45 GMT)
2.8

10 km
SUMBAWA REGION, INDONESIA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:24 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 15:24 GMT)
3.5

26 km
SUMBAWA REGION, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 14:41 GMT)
2.5

11 km
Philippines: 007 Km N 42° W of Columbio (Sultan Kudarat) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:46 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2022 13:46 GMT)
3.9

13 km
CERAM SEA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:40 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 13:40 GMT)
2.5

7 km
Philippines: 015 Km S 25° E of Isabela (Negros Occidental) 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:34 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 13:34 GMT)
4.4

210 km
145 Km WSW of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.3 x 1013 joules (6.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5417 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Indian Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or around the Indian Ocean?

The last earthquake in or around the Indian Ocean occurred 54 minutes ago: Moderate mag. 4.6 earthquake - Ceram Sea, 78 km north of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia, on Thursday, Aug 18, 2022 at 10:03 am (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in or around the Indian Ocean in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Indian Ocean had 67 quakes up to magnitude 5.5.

What was the strongest quake in or around the Indian Ocean in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or around the Indian Ocean in the past 48 hours occurred 13 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.5 earthquake - Banda Sea, Indonesia, 173 km north of Delhi, Aveiro, Dili, Timor-Leste, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 8:56 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings