Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Celebes Sea in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Celebes Sea was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.7 | Celebes Sea, 25 km SE of Pagadian City, Philippines -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.0 | Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 211 km SE of General Santos City, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Celebes Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours5 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days44 quakes | 23 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days221 quakes | 94 quakes M2+ | 83 quakes M3+ | 23 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days642 quakes | 276 quakes M2+ | 227 quakes M3+ | 62 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,518 quakes | 1,210 quakes M2+ | 774 quakes M3+ | 253 quakes M4+ | 21 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Oct 6, 2022 5:54 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 21:54 GMT)
2.7

9 km
Celebes Sea, 25 km southeast of Pagadian City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 6, 2022 1:45 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 17:45 GMT)
4.0

13 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 211 km southeast of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 6, 2022 12:31 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 16:31 GMT)
2.4

1 km
28 km southwest of Digos, Province of Davao del Sur, Philippines More
Oct 6, 2022 12:09 am (GMT +8) (Oct 5, 2022 16:09 GMT)
1.9

28 km
Celebes Sea, 45 km west of Cotabato City, Philippines More
Oct 5, 2022 9:13 am (GMT +9) (Oct 5, 2022 00:13 GMT)
2.9

15 km
Molucca Sea, Indonesia More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 12:50 am (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 16:50 GMT)
2.1

18 km
Celebes Sea, 62 km south of Pagadian City, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 8:38 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 12:38 GMT)
3.1

84 km
Philippine Sea, 39 km south of Bislig City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 6:29 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 10:29 GMT)
2.6

1 km
Celebes Sea, 85 km southwest of Cotabato City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 11:36 am (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 03:36 GMT)
2.4

11 km
22 km south of Kidapawan, Province of Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Philippines More
Oct 4, 2022 10:28 am (GMT +8) (Oct 4, 2022 02:28 GMT)
3.1

174 km
117 km west of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 1010 joules (20 megawatt hours, equivalent to 17.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Davao, Philippines (DAV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Davao, Philippines: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Celebes Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Celebes Sea?

The last earthquake in Celebes Sea occurred 40 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - Celebes Sea, 25 km southeast of Pagadian City, Philippines, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 5:54 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Celebes Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Celebes Sea had 10 quakes up to magnitude 4.0.

What was the strongest quake in Celebes Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Celebes Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 5 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.0 earthquake - Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 211 km southeast of General Santos City, Philippines, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 1:45 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings