Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near North Sulawesi, Indonesia, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, June 8, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jun 8, 2023 10:53 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
A light magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in Gorontalo, Indonesia, 14 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, June 8, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 8, 2023 11:39 am (GMT +8) (Jun 8, 2023 03:39 GMT)
3.4

33 km
Molucca Sea, 165 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 8:37 am (GMT +8) (Jun 8, 2023 00:37 GMT)
3.2

54 km
70 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, June 7, 2023 GMT (9 quakes)
Jun 8, 2023 5:55 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 21:55 GMT)
3.4

10 km
North Sulawesi, Indonesia, 187 km southeast of Sarangani, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 5:26 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 21:26 GMT)
2.9

227 km
Celebes Sea, 7.2 km northwest of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jun 8, 2023 5:15 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 21:15 GMT)
4.3

122 km
72 km west of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 4:48 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 20:48 GMT)
3.3

71 km
Molucca Sea, 153 km northeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 3:34 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 19:34 GMT)
3.0

225 km
78 km southwest of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 12:17 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 16:17 GMT)
4.3

44 km
Philippine Sea, 289 km northeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 7, 2023 9:46 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 13:46 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Molucca Sea, Indonesia More
Jun 7, 2023 1:27 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 05:27 GMT)
3.1

118 km
69 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 7, 2023 8:58 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 00:58 GMT)
2.3

53 km
Philippine Sea, 118 km southeast of Caburan, Davao Occidental, Philippines More
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jun 7, 2023 1:17 am (GMT +8) (Jun 6, 2023 17:17 GMT)
2.3

1 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia More
Jun 6, 2023 10:59 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 6, 2023 14:59 GMT)
2.7

9 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 6, 2023 11:17 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 6, 2023 14:17 GMT)
4.7

35 km
Molucca Sea, 108 km west of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1012 joules (305 megawatt hours, equivalent to 262 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Sulawesi Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in North Sulawesi?

The last earthquake in North Sulawesi occurred 7 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.4 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 165 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Thursday, Jun 8, 2023 at 11:39 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in North Sulawesi in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, North Sulawesi, Indonesia had 14 quakes up to magnitude 4.7.

What was the strongest quake in North Sulawesi in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in North Sulawesi in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 21 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.7 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 108 km west of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia, on Tuesday, Jun 6, 2023 at 11:17 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings