Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near South Aegean, Greece, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 43 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 34 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | Eastern Mediterranean, 70 km S of Chania, Crete, Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.9 | Eastern Mediterranean, 79 km SE of Rhodos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near South Aegean, Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours20 quakes10 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days275 quakes99 quakes M2+23 quakes M3+0 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days1,358 quakes457 quakes M2+107 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days3,647 quakes1,283 quakes M2+246 quakes M3+21 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days15,874 quakes4,973 quakes M2+740 quakes M3+59 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Aegina | Aetos | Afyonkarahisar, Turkey | Agathonisi | Aghios Stefanos | Aghios Stefanos | Agia Kiriaki | Agios Nikolaos | Agios Nikolaos | Akronisos Island, Muğla, Turkey | ...Show all... | Vrahos Kteniya | İzmir, Turkey

Quakes in or near South Aegean, Greece | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.9 or higher (60 out of 91 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 12:41 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 27, 2023 10:41 GMT)
3.0

16 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 70 km south of Chania, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 12:34 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 27, 2023 09:34 GMT)
2.0

3.4 km
10.5 km south of Acipayam, Acıpayam, Denizli, Turkey More
Jan 27, 2023 2:14 am (GMT +2) (Jan 27, 2023 00:14 GMT)
3.3

30 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 74 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:01 am (GMT +2) (Jan 27, 2023 00:01 GMT)
2.2

16 km
Aegean Sea, Central Greece, 60 km northeast of Athens, Greece More
Jan 27, 2023 2:01 am (GMT +2) (Jan 27, 2023 00:01 GMT)
2.2

16 km
Aegean Sea, 60 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (17 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 1:53 am (GMT +3) (Jan 26, 2023 22:53 GMT)
2.7

6.5 km
11 km west of Ödemiş, İzmir, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 8:18 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 18:18 GMT)
2.8

13 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 89 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 8:51 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 26, 2023 17:51 GMT)
2.3

6.8 km
34 km east of Denizli, Turkey More
Jan 26, 2023 7:44 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 17:44 GMT)
3.2

44 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 70 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:59 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 15:59 GMT)
2.4

8.4 km
Eastern Mediterranean, Greece, 92 km south of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey More
Jan 26, 2023 6:35 pm (GMT +3) (Jan 26, 2023 15:35 GMT)
2.0

4.4 km
12 km southeast of Acipayam, Acıpayam, Denizli, Turkey 1 reportMore
Jan 26, 2023 4:29 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 14:29 GMT)
2.1

4 km
Aegean Sea, 13 km northeast of Oia, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 4:24 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 14:24 GMT)
2.1

2 km
Aegean Sea, 11 km northeast of Oia, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 2:36 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 12:36 GMT)
2.4

7 km
Aegean Sea, 17 km northeast of Karlovassi, Samos, North Aegean, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 10:54 am (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 08:54 GMT)
2.0

15 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 78 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 9:08 am (GMT +3) (Jan 26, 2023 06:08 GMT)
2.8

3 km
26 km northeast of Denizli, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:52 am (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 03:52 GMT)
1.9

15 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 72 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 4:55 am (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 02:55 GMT)
3.7

129 km
Aegean Sea, 61 km southwest of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:32 am (GMT +3) (Jan 26, 2023 01:32 GMT)
2.2

3 km
14 km southeast of Izmir, İzmir, Turkey More
Jan 26, 2023 2:48 am (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 00:48 GMT)
2.6

11 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 83 km southeast of Pigadia, Greece More
Jan 26, 2023 2:48 am (GMT +2) (Jan 26, 2023 00:48 GMT)
2.5

33 km
Aegean Sea, 23 km east of Molaoi, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.5 x 1013 joules (12.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 10698 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ankara, Turkey (ANTO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ankara, Turkey: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South Aegean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in South Aegean?

The last earthquake in South Aegean occurred 30 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - Eastern Mediterranean, 70 km south of Chania, Crete, Greece, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 12:41 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in South Aegean in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, South Aegean, Greece had 60 quakes up to magnitude 5.9.

What was the strongest quake in South Aegean in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in South Aegean in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 23 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.9 earthquake - Eastern Mediterranean, 79 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece, on Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023 at 2:37 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings