Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Halmahera Sea in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:54 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 3.3 | Molucca Sea, 153 km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.7 | Molucca Sea, 282 km NE of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Halmahera Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours9 quakes0 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days97 quakes5 quakes M2+48 quakes M3+35 quakes M4+9 quakes M5+
Past 30 days221 quakes13 quakes M2+115 quakes M3+81 quakes M4+11 quakes M5+0 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 90 days351 quakes26 quakes M2+187 quakes M3+123 quakes M4+14 quakes M5+0 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 365 days830 quakes94 quakes M2+461 quakes M3+252 quakes M4+22 quakes M5+0 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 3:24 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 06:24 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 153 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 1:44 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 04:44 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Molucca Sea, 148 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:01 am (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 01:01 GMT)
3.0

110 km
Molucca Sea, 92 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (16 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 7:20 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 22:20 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Molucca Sea, 142 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:00 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 22:00 GMT)
3.4

21 km
Molucca Sea, 131 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 5:12 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 21:12 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Molucca Sea, 170 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 12:53 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 15:53 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Molucca Sea, 201 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 12:47 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 15:47 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Molucca Sea, 162 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:11 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 13:11 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 245 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:57 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 08:57 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 240 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:47 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 08:47 GMT)
3.9

10 km
Molucca Sea, 150 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 2:33 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 06:33 GMT)
4.9

59 km
Molucca Sea, 300 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:13 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 06:13 GMT)
3.6

67 km
Molucca Sea, 148 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:11 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 06:11 GMT)
2.5

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 59 km northeast of Sorong, West Papua, Indonesia More
Jan 26, 2023 2:33 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 05:33 GMT)
3.9

10 km
Molucca Sea, 227 km northeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 1:23 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 04:23 GMT)
5.7

35 km
Molucca Sea, 282 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:51 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 02:51 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Molucca Sea, 177 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:15 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 02:15 GMT)
3.9

10 km
Molucca Sea, 148 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:46 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 01:46 GMT)
4.0

10 km
Molucca Sea, 247 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 4:31 am (GMT +9) (Jan 25, 2023 19:31 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 225 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 11:51 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 15:51 GMT)
4.6

46 km
Molucca Sea, 285 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1013 joules (6.99 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6010 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Davao, Philippines (DAV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Davao, Philippines: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Halmahera Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Halmahera Sea?

The last earthquake in Halmahera Sea occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 153 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 3:24 pm (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Halmahera Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Halmahera Sea had 21 quakes up to magnitude 5.7.

What was the strongest quake in Halmahera Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Halmahera Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 7 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.7 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 282 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 1:23 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings