Latest quakes in or near Ibaraki, Japan, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 01:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Ibaraki had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 96 km SE of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 86 km SE of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Ibaraki, Japan (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:39 quakes | 23 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:143 quakes | 92 quakes M2+ | 41 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:550 quakes | 368 quakes M2+ | 152 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:2,703 quakes | 1,748 quakes M2+ | 791 quakes M3+ | 141 quakes M4+ | 21 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Ibaraki, Japan | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 5:20 am (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 20:20 GMT)
2.5

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:41 am (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 19:41 GMT)
2.6

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, 93 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:31 am (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 17:31 GMT)
3.8

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 86 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:25 am (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 16:25 GMT)
3.5

49 km
North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:50 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 14:50 GMT)
3.6

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km southeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 12:51 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 03:51 GMT)
2.5

43 km
North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southeast of Hitachi, Ibaraki, Japan MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:45 am (GMT +9) (Aug 8, 2022 02:45 GMT)
2.6

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 8:26 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 7, 2022 11:26 GMT)
2.6

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 7, 2022 09:53 GMT)
2.5

146 km
Yamanashi, 24 km west of Hatiozi, Hachioji, Tokyo, Japan MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 2:59 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 7, 2022 05:59 GMT)
2.6

36 km
4.1 km southwest of Katori-shi, Chiba, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.2 x 1010 joules (17.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 14.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Ibaraki Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ibaraki?

The last earthquake in Ibaraki occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 5:20 am (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Ibaraki in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Ibaraki, Japan had 10 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Ibaraki in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Ibaraki in the past 48 hours occurred 8 hours ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 86 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 2:31 am (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings