Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Puerto Rico in the past 48 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 02:19 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 9 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Puerto Rico had 1 quake of magnitude 3.5 and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 2 Km WSW of Indios, Puerto Rico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.5 | Provincia de La Altagracia, 26 km E of La Romana, Dominican Republic -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Puerto Rico (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 8 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:80 quakes | 47 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:437 quakes | 303 quakes M2+ | 51 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:1,482 quakes | 1,001 quakes M2+ | 136 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:3,797 quakes | 2,463 quakes M2+ | 736 quakes M3+ | 30 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
May 18, 2022 3:38 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 19:38 GMT)
2.1

12 km
2 Km WSW of Indios, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 17:24 GMT)
2.4

16 km
Guayanilla, 6.1 km south of Yauco, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 8:47 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 12:47 GMT)
1.5

4.2 km
1 Km SW of Liborio Negron Torres, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:36 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 09:36 GMT)
3.5

78 km
Provincia de La Altagracia, 26 km east of La Romana, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:36 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 09:36 GMT)
2.6

10 km
63 Km SSW of Boca De Yuma, Dominican Republic MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:34 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 09:34 GMT)
2.2

15 km
Guayanilla, 18 km west of Ponce, Segundo Barrio, Ponce, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:55 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 07:55 GMT)
2.4

13 km
Caribbean Sea, 22 km south of Yauco, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:48 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 07:48 GMT)
1.5

0.1 km
14 Km SSW of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:58 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 06:58 GMT)
2.1

12 km
4 Km W of Fuig, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:53 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 06:53 GMT)
2.3

12 km
Caribbean Sea, 23 km southwest of Guayama, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:19 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 06:19 GMT)
2.6

7 km
16 Km W of Puerto Real, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 9:01 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 01:01 GMT)
2.4

14 km
12 Km SSE of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 17, 2022 8:44 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 00:44 GMT)
2.6

10.6 km
6 Km SW of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
May 17, 2022 7:47 pm (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 23:47 GMT)
1.9

16 km
2 Km ENE of Magas Arriba, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 17, 2022 7:32 pm (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 23:32 GMT)
1.6

12 km
4 Km SSW of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:46 pm (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 22:46 GMT)
1.6

6.8 km
11 Km SSW of Tallaboa, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1010 joules (4.48 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.85 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Puerto Rico Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Puerto Rico?

The last earthquake in Puerto Rico occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - 2 Km WSW of Indios, Puerto Rico, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 3:38 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Puerto Rico in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Puerto Rico had 29 quakes up to magnitude 3.5.

What was the strongest quake in Puerto Rico in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Puerto Rico in the past 48 hours occurred 17 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.5 earthquake - Provincia de La Altagracia, 26 km east of La Romana, Dominican Republic, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 5:36 am (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.