Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near North Island, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Monday, November 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 05:01 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 43 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 39 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | Tasman, 51 km W of Nelson, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.7 | South Pacific Ocean, Waikato, 65 km NE of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near North Island, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours35 quakes22 quakes M2+0 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days259 quakes152 quakes M2+13 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days1,386 quakes617 quakes M2+93 quakes M3+15 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days3,999 quakes1,827 quakes M2+265 quakes M3+32 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days16,467 quakes7,308 quakes M2+1,078 quakes M3+113 quakes M4+9 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (64 out of 84 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, November 28, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Nov 28, 2022 4:55 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 03:55 GMT)
2.1

141 km
Tasman, 51 km west of Nelson, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 4:47 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 03:47 GMT)
1.8

15 km
27 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 3:58 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 02:58 GMT)
2.2

11 km
96 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 3:40 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 02:40 GMT)
2.0

16 km
53 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Sunday, November 27, 2022 GMT (35 quakes)
Nov 28, 2022 11:44 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 22:44 GMT)
2.4

63 km
Tasman Sea, 73 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 10:43 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 21:43 GMT)
2.5

28 km
54 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 10:37 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 21:37 GMT)
2.3

73 km
Tasman Sea, 92 km northwest of Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 9:53 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 20:53 GMT)
4.7

201 km
South Pacific Ocean, Waikato, 65 km northeast of Tauranga, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Nov 28, 2022 9:46 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 20:46 GMT)
1.9

26 km
43 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 9:39 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 20:39 GMT)
2.0

4.9 km
6.6 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 19:32 GMT)
2.6

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 47 km north of Hicks Bay, Gisborne District, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 6:29 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 17:29 GMT)
2.2

5 km
11 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 4:27 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 15:27 GMT)
2.0

144 km
82 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 2:42 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 13:42 GMT)
2.0

138 km
49 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:01 am (GMT +12) (Nov 27, 2022 13:01 GMT)
2.6

130 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 12:26 GMT)
1.8

5 km
5.1 km northeast of Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:19 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 12:19 GMT)
2.1

22 km
18 km west of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:04 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 12:04 GMT)
2.2

21 km
Tasman Sea, 13 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 12:27 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 11:27 GMT)
2.0

17 km
Tasman Sea, 27 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 12:17 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 11:17 GMT)
1.8

5.9 km
7.5 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 10:53 GMT)
2.2

102 km
Manawatu-Wanganui, 68 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 1011 joules (200 megawatt hours, equivalent to 172 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Island Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in North Island?

The last earthquake in North Island occurred 1 hour and 6 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - Tasman, 51 km west of Nelson, New Zealand, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 4:55 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in North Island in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, North Island, New Zealand had 64 quakes up to magnitude 4.7.

What was the strongest quake in North Island in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in North Island in the past 48 hours occurred 8 hours ago: Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, Waikato, 65 km northeast of Tauranga, New Zealand, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 9:53 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings