Latest quakes in or near Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:40 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 44 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Wanganui District had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 44 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | Tasman Sea, 159 km NW of Wellington, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 76 km E of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:40 quakes | 12 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:231 quakes | 69 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:866 quakes | 340 quakes M2+ | 32 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:2,379 quakes | 933 quakes M2+ | 93 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:8,903 quakes | 3,294 quakes M2+ | 333 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (68 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 18, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 18, 2022 00:59 GMT)
2.5

166 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (40 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 9:35 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 21:35 GMT)
2.6

127 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 7:27 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 19:27 GMT)
2.2

29 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 7:07 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 19:07 GMT)
2.4

5.2 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 6:20 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 18:20 GMT)
2.9

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 6:16 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 18:16 GMT)
1.7

23 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 5:20 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 17:20 GMT)
2.2

7.4 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 3:08 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 15:08 GMT)
1.7

12 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 2:31 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 14:31 GMT)
2.3

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 2:03 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 14:03 GMT)
1.8

8 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:47 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 12:47 GMT)
1.6

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:29 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 12:29 GMT)
2.5

157 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:19 am (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 12:19 GMT)
1.7

10.2 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:14 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 11:14 GMT)
1.2

30 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:57 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 10:57 GMT)
1.6

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:25 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 10:25 GMT)
1.9

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:19 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 10:19 GMT)
2.4

46 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:02 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 10:02 GMT)
1.3

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:56 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 08:56 GMT)
1.1

22 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:46 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 08:46 GMT)
1.4

22 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 7:24 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 17, 2022 07:24 GMT)
1.8

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.7 x 1010 joules (15.9 megawatt hours, equivalent to 13.7 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Wanganui District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Wanganui District?

The last earthquake in Wanganui District occurred 1 hour and 41 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 159 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, on Thursday, Aug 18, 2022 at 12:59 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Wanganui District in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 68 quakes up to magnitude 3.9.

What was the strongest quake in Wanganui District in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Wanganui District in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 16 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.9 earthquake - 76 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 11:04 pm (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings