Latest quakes in or around the Aegean Sea in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 02:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 62 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, the Aegean Sea region had 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 36 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 62 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 1.1 km E of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 40 km SE of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or around the Aegean Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours:48 quakes | 18 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:354 quakes | 125 quakes M2+ | 20 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:1,829 quakes | 698 quakes M2+ | 123 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:5,902 quakes | 1,852 quakes M2+ | 263 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:30,408 quakes | 9,946 quakes M2+ | 1,413 quakes M3+ | 108 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (65 out of 103 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 5:27 am (GMT +3) (Aug 9, 2022 02:27 GMT)
1.8

5 km
Greece: 2 Km NE From Thebes MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:42 am (GMT +3) (Aug 9, 2022 00:42 GMT)
2.6

5 km
Dodecanese Islands, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:40 am (GMT +3) (Aug 9, 2022 00:40 GMT)
1.9

5 km
Greece: 9 Km W From Milies Piliou MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (35 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 2:58 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:58 GMT)
2.1

4.6 km
Turkey: KUSADASI KORFEZI (AEGEAN SEA) MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:56 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:56 GMT)
2.0

10 km
Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:34 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:34 GMT)
1.9

5 km
Greece: 4 Km NNW From Kardamyli Messinia MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:09 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 22:09 GMT)
1.8

5 km
Southern Greece MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:49 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 21:49 GMT)
1.8

12 km
Greece: 4 Km E From Thebes MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:44 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 20:44 GMT)
1.8

15 km
Greece: 11 Km NE From Arkalochori MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:52 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 19:52 GMT)
2.2

10.2 km
Greece MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:06 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 19:06 GMT)
2.4

22 km
Greece: 27 Km NW From Chania MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 7:56 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 16:56 GMT)
1.8

15 km
Greece: 7 Km SE From Herakleia MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 16:40 GMT)
3.2

12 km
Greece: 8 Km SE From Herakleia
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 6:59 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 15:59 GMT)
1.8

9.8 km
Greece: 7 Km SE From Herakleia MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 6:21 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 15:21 GMT)
1.7

3.4 km
Turkey: HAMITLI-KIRKAGAC (MANISA) MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:45 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 14:45 GMT)
3.9

55 km
Greece: 10 Km N From Kalavryta
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:35 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 14:35 GMT)
2.0

15 km
Greece: 8 Km N From Katerini MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:34 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 14:34 GMT)
2.7

8.2 km
Greece: 6 Km NNE From Arkalochori
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:24 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 14:24 GMT)
2.8

5 km
Turkey
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:57 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 13:57 GMT)
2.1

16 km
Greece: 8 Km SW From Politika Euboea MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:27 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 13:27 GMT)
3.0

10 km
Southern Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1010 joules (18.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Aegean Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or around the Aegean Sea?

The last earthquake in or around the Aegean Sea occurred 14 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 1.1 km east of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 5:27 am (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in or around the Aegean Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Aegean Sea had 65 quakes up to magnitude 3.9.

What was the strongest quake in or around the Aegean Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or around the Aegean Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 12 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.9 earthquake - 40 km southeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 5:45 pm (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings