Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 12:05 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 28 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 17 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | Manawatu-Wanganui, 78 km E of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 52 km NE of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours21 quakes12 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days194 quakes86 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days862 quakes413 quakes M2+51 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days2,960 quakes1,332 quakes M2+154 quakes M3+14 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days9,284 quakes4,363 quakes M2+505 quakes M3+32 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Bay of Plenty, New Zealand | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (50 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (10 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 11:19 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 10:19 GMT)
2.6

178 km
Manawatu-Wanganui, 78 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Jan 27, 2023 10:59 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:59 GMT)
3.1

137 km
4.7 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:04 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:04 GMT)
2.1

4.8 km
25 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 9:20 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 08:20 GMT)
1.8

134 km
32 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:06 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 05:06 GMT)
1.5

162 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 5:38 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 04:38 GMT)
2.2

139 km
Waikato, 32 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 5:12 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 04:12 GMT)
1.4

8.1 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:23 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 02:23 GMT)
1.9

53 km
Hawke's Bay, 48 km southeast of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:10 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 02:10 GMT)
2.4

5 km
50 km northeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 1:37 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 00:37 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Bay of Plenty, 37 km east of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (23 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 12:38 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 23:38 GMT)
2.4

37 km
71 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 8:33 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 19:33 GMT)
1.5

40 km
Hawke's Bay, 49 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 7:00 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 18:00 GMT)
2.5

71 km
33 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 5:03 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 16:03 GMT)
2.5

209 km
Waikato, 32 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 2:23 am (GMT +12) (Jan 26, 2023 14:23 GMT)
2.4

59 km
South Pacific Ocean, 93 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:11 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 14:11 GMT)
2.4

16 km
40 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 2:55 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 13:55 GMT)
3.3

142 km
22 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:52 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 13:52 GMT)
1.6

17 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 2:46 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 13:46 GMT)
2.6

18 km
38 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 2:28 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 13:28 GMT)
1.9

4 km
16 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 1:53 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 12:53 GMT)
2.0

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 63 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1010 joules (19 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Bay of Plenty Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Bay of Plenty?

The last earthquake in Bay of Plenty occurred 1 hour and 47 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - Manawatu-Wanganui, 78 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 11:19 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Bay of Plenty in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand had 50 quakes up to magnitude 3.9.

What was the strongest quake in Bay of Plenty in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Bay of Plenty in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 1 hours ago: Moderate mag. 3.9 earthquake - 52 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 11:49 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings