Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near the North Atlantic in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 19:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 23 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 110 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 374 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, the North Atlantic Ocean had 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 13 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 23 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 110 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 374 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | 10.7 km S of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.2 | 31 km NW of Santiago de Cali, Colombia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the North Atlantic (updated )

Past 24 hours203 quakes | 54 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days1,363 quakes | 333 quakes M2+ | 83 quakes M3+ | 74 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 30 days8,186 quakes | 2,474 quakes M2+ | 481 quakes M3+ | 156 quakes M4+ | 16 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days27,546 quakes | 8,661 quakes M2+ | 2,080 quakes M3+ | 445 quakes M4+ | 29 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 365 days77,544 quakes | 26,380 quakes M2+ | 7,139 quakes M3+ | 1,001 quakes M4+ | 91 quakes M5+ | 9 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Algeria | Andorra | Antarctic Ocean | Antigua and Barbuda | Atlantic Ocean | Bahamas | Barbados | Belgium | Benin | Borkena Fasos | ...Show all... | Washington DC, USA | Western Central Pacific Ocean - Kiribati
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.6 or higher (79 out of 522 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (50 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 1:08 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 19:08 GMT)
3.0

13 km
Costa Rica: 13 Km Al Sur De Golfito, Puntarenas.
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 7:08 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 18:08 GMT)
2.1

9 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 17:53 GMT)
2.0

20 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 6:38 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 17:38 GMT)
2.7

7 km
Morocco: Strait of Gibraltar
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 17:35 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Reading, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:56 pm (GMT +0) (Oct 4, 2022 16:56 GMT)
2.0
Portugal: W Faial More
Oct 4, 2022 5:53 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:53 GMT)
2.4

14 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 11:52 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 16:52 GMT)
2.6

10.5 km
Northern Colombia More
Oct 4, 2022 5:50 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:50 GMT)
2.7

18 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:44 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:44 GMT)
2.1

30 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:43 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:43 GMT)
2.1

30 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 11:39 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 16:39 GMT)
2.0

13 km
Northern Colombia More
Oct 4, 2022 5:27 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:27 GMT)
2.2

26 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 12:25 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 4, 2022 16:25 GMT)
2.1

10.2 km
6 Km SW of Guánica, Puerto Rico More
Oct 4, 2022 5:23 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:23 GMT)
2.0

8 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:21 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:21 GMT)
2.3

9 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 6:13 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 4, 2022 16:13 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:11 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:11 GMT)
2.2

20 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:02 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 16:02 GMT)
2.2

25 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR More
Oct 4, 2022 5:55 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 4, 2022 15:55 GMT)
2.3

30 km
Spain: NE VILLABLANCA.H More
Oct 4, 2022 11:49 am (GMT -4) (Oct 4, 2022 15:49 GMT)
3.2

9.5 km
39 Km NW of San Antonio, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1013 joules (3.53 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3036 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: (ROSA/PM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station : seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Atlantic Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the North Atlantic?

The last earthquake in or near the North Atlantic occurred 20 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - 10.7 km south of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 1:08 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in or near the North Atlantic in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, North Atlantic Ocean had 79 quakes up to magnitude 5.2.

What was the strongest quake in or near the North Atlantic in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near the North Atlantic in the past 48 hours occurred 14 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - 31 km northwest of Santiago de Cali, Colombia, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 12:13 am (GMT -5).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings