2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Saturday, June 25, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jun 25, 2022 02:35 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 48 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Manawatu-Wanganui had 1 quake of magnitude 3.6 and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 48 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.7 | 63 km N of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 27 km NW of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:25 quakes | 9 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:224 quakes | 87 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:882 quakes | 360 quakes M2+ | 41 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:2,644 quakes | 1,005 quakes M2+ | 107 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:10,104 quakes | 3,854 quakes M2+ | 379 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.7 or higher (69 out of 71 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, June 25, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Jun 25, 2022 2:26 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 25, 2022 02:26 GMT)
1.7

77 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 25, 2022 02:10 GMT)
1.5

17 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 25, 2022 01:02 GMT)
2.4

86 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 12:47 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 25, 2022 00:47 GMT)
1.9

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 12:16 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 25, 2022 00:16 GMT)
2.1

4.4 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, June 24, 2022 GMT (24 quakes)
Jun 25, 2022 11:04 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 23:04 GMT)
1.5

112 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 10:58 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 22:58 GMT)
2.7

176 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 10:47 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 22:47 GMT)
0.7

30 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 7:58 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 19:58 GMT)
1.8

139 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 7:54 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 19:54 GMT)
1.5

31 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 7:20 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 19:20 GMT)
2.1

77 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 5:07 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 17:07 GMT)
1.9

20 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 4:13 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 16:13 GMT)
2.5

152 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 3:51 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 15:51 GMT)
1.9

34 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 3:10 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 15:10 GMT)
2.0

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 25, 2022 2:12 am (GMT +12) (Jun 24, 2022 14:12 GMT)
1.5

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1010 joules (5.74 megawatt hours, equivalent to 4.94 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Manawatu-Wanganui Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Manawatu-Wanganui?

The last earthquake in Manawatu-Wanganui occurred 9 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - 63 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Saturday, Jun 25, 2022 at 2:26 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Manawatu-Wanganui in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 69 quakes up to magnitude 3.6.

What was the strongest quake in Manawatu-Wanganui in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Manawatu-Wanganui in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 3 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.6 earthquake - 27 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, on Friday, Jun 24, 2022 at 11:35 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.