Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Monday, November 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 04:31 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 23 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 21 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 27 km N of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 38 km N of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours18 quakes11 quakes M2+
Past 7 days153 quakes91 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+
Past 30 days802 quakes343 quakes M2+39 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,258 quakes974 quakes M2+92 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+
Past 365 days9,338 quakes3,887 quakes M2+382 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (44 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, November 28, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Nov 28, 2022 4:47 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 03:47 GMT)
1.8

15 km
27 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sunday, November 27, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
Nov 28, 2022 11:44 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 22:44 GMT)
2.4

63 km
Tasman Sea, 73 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 11:23 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 22:23 GMT)
1.5

35 km
New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 10:43 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 21:43 GMT)
2.5

28 km
54 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 10:37 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 21:37 GMT)
2.3

73 km
Tasman Sea, 92 km northwest of Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 9:39 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 20:39 GMT)
2.0

4.9 km
6.6 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 6:29 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 17:29 GMT)
2.2

5 km
11 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 4:27 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 15:27 GMT)
2.0

144 km
82 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 2:42 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 13:42 GMT)
2.0

138 km
49 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:42 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 12:42 GMT)
1.3

26 km
New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 12:26 GMT)
1.8

5 km
5.1 km northeast of Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 12:27 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 11:27 GMT)
2.0

17 km
Tasman Sea, 27 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 28, 2022 12:17 am (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 11:17 GMT)
1.8

5.9 km
7.5 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 10:53 GMT)
2.2

102 km
Manawatu-Wanganui, 68 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 11:25 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 10:25 GMT)
2.1

124 km
56 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 10:55 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 09:55 GMT)
1.2

15 km
New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 9:24 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 08:24 GMT)
1.8

93 km
Taranaki, 39 km northwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 9:02 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 08:02 GMT)
2.0

28 km
South Pacific Ocean, 9.3 km southeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 5:23 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 04:23 GMT)
2.0

18 km
South Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 5:12 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 04:12 GMT)
2.2

3.8 km
7.7 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 5:09 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 27, 2022 04:09 GMT)
2.2

5 km
6.8 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 109 joules (1.03 megawatt hours, equivalent to 0.883 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Ruapehu District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ruapehu District?

The last earthquake in Ruapehu District occurred 44 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 27 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 4:47 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Ruapehu District in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 44 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in Ruapehu District in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Ruapehu District in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 11 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 38 km north of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Sunday, Nov 27, 2022 at 6:33 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings