Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:51 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:51 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 12 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 77 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 259 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 474 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 940 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.5 | Caribbean Sea, 56 km NE of Road Town, British Virgin Islands -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.0 | Indian Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours152 quakes112 quakes M3+36 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.3 on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 5:30 pm (GMT -2)North Atlantic Ocean
Past 7 days1,184 quakes873 quakes M3+274 quakes M4+35 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,787 quakes3,514 quakes M3+1,135 quakes M4+127 quakes M5+8 quakes M6+3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,292 quakes10,177 quakes M3+3,643 quakes M4+437 quakes M5+28 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days63,320 quakes45,902 quakes M3+15,572 quakes M4+1,718 quakes M5+114 quakes M6+14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 1762 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 11:06 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 7:06 am (GMT -4)
4.5

49 km
Caribbean Sea, 56 km northeast of Road Town, British Virgin Islands
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:56 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 7:56 am (GMT -3)
3.8

113 km
107 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:51 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 5:51 am (GMT -5)
4.2

185 km
84 km south of Puno, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:28 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 2:28 am (GMT -8)
3.7

16 km
15 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 22 reports
More
Jan 27, 2023 09:36 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 1:06 pm (GMT +3:30)
4.4

10 km
Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad, 15 km east of Behbahān, Khuzestan, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 07:12 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 2:12 pm (GMT +7)
4.3

174 km
37 km northeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 07:06 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 3:06 pm (GMT +8)
4.1

15 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 189 km southeast of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 06:18 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 7:18 am (GMT +1)
?

n/a
43 km west of Cracovia, Lesser Poland (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Jan 27, 2023 06:03 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 3:03 pm (GMT +9)
4.5

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 84 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 05:51 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 12:21 pm (GMT +6:30)
3.9

29 km
26 km north of Mawlaik, Sagaing Region, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 05:35 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 2:35 pm (GMT +9)
3.7

86 km
155 km west of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 05:34 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 2:34 am (GMT -3)
3.7

82 km
74 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 05:29 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 1:29 pm (GMT +8)
5.0

10 km
Indian Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 05:25 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 11:25 pm (GMT -6)
4.2

61 km
North Pacific Ocean, 66 km west of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 04:40 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 12:40 pm (GMT +8)
3.9

128 km
Molucca Sea, 208 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 04:34 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 11:34 pm (GMT -5)
4.5

103 km
Departamento del Choco, 44 km northwest of Cartago, Colombia
I FELT IT - 42 reports
More
Jan 27, 2023 04:28 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 1:28 pm (GMT +9)
3.6

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, 46 km east of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 04:28 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 1:28 pm (GMT +9)
3.6

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km east of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 04:24 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 11:24 am (GMT +7)
4.3

28 km
Indian Ocean, 56 km west of Sinabang, Kabupaten Simeulue, Aceh, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:21 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 11:21 am (GMT +8)
4.5

111 km
South China Sea, 26 km southwest of Balayan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.6 x 1012 joules (1.27 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1095 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings